Jimmies women’s soccer wins bevy of GPAC awards

Jimmies women’s soccer wins bevy of GPAC awards

Nov. 16—The University of Jamestown women’s soccer team had the most successful season in program history, heading into the NAIA tournament with an 18-1-1 record, winning the GPAC regular-season crown, and finishing runner up in the GPAC tournament. As a result, the Jimmies were rewarded by the GPAC in their year-end awards.

Jimmies forward Kamryn Fiscus won the offensive player of the year after a season in which she put up nine goals and 12 assists for 30 points. Fiscus is the first Jimmie to win offensive player of the year since Connie Contreras in 2017.

Despite being lethal in front of goal for the Jimmies this year, Fiscus was not named offensive player of the week at all this year which makes this award sweeter.

“It feels good. It didn’t really get a lot of recognition throughout the year so it kind of bummed me out a little, but I’m here for the team,” Fiscus said. “That’s what I’ve always been doing, so to get this recognition feels pretty amazing.”

The accolades continued off the field and to the technical box as for his efforts, head coach Nick Becker was named the GPAC coach of the year. Becker is the first coach in program history to win the coach of the year award.

Becker’s reaction was a subdued one to the news, preferring to focus more on his team and its accomplishments.

“It’s a great honor, a good thing. For me, I don’t usually look at those things,” Becker said. “I thank them for awarding it but at the same time it’s not about me, it’s about the team.”

The Jimmies placed three players on the GPAC all-conference first team, good for a tie for the most on the team with Briar Cliff. The Jimmies’ all-conference first-team players are forward Cassandra Diaz, Fiscus and defender Haley Dyer. The three first-team players have played in every game so far for the Jimmies, with the trio starting in all but two of them.

The Jimmies also placed four players on the all-conference second team and one honorable mention. The second-team players are forward Claire Struble, midfielder Eve Hoppe, defender Penelope Hoppe and goalie Alex Nowka. The honorable mention is midfielder Gabby Sarkis.

Credit: Source link