New Mexico Claims 2021 MW Women’s Soccer Championship Title in Overtime Thriller

New Mexico Claims 2021 MW Women’s Soccer Championship Title in Overtime Thriller

BOISE, Idaho – Top-seeded New Mexico claimed its second Mountain West Women’s Soccer Championship title and first since 2011 after defeating No. 6 seed Boise State, 2-1, in overtime on Saturday afternoon at the Boas Soccer Complex in Boise, Idaho.

The Lobos (14-4-2) victory over the defending MW tournament champions Boise State (11-7-4), marks the 12th time that the No. 1 seed has won the Conference tournament title since the league’s inception in 1999.

It took only 35 seconds into the first overtime period for New Mexico to end the match after senior Jadyn Edwards scored the golden goal, her 11th goal of the season. With the win, New Mexico earns the league’s automatic berth to the 2021 NCAA Women’s Soccer Tournament.

In the 33rd minute, New Mexico took a 1-0 lead when senior Madi Hirschman’s shot from outside the 18-yard box curved past Boise State’s goalkeeper and into the back of the net. Hirschman’s unassisted goal is the fourth this season for the forward.

In a defensive battle in the first half where both teams limited the oppositions chances on goal, UNM outshot the Broncos, 5-4. Both goalkeepers recorded a pair of saves each in the opening half.

In the opening minutes of the second half, Boise State senior Abby Bivens cut through a pair of Lobo defenders looking for the equalizer, but her shot hit the goal post and New Mexico maintained its 1-0 advantage. The Broncos continued to test New Mexico’s defense, registering seven shots in the first 20 minutes of the second half.

In the 79th minute, Boise State’s freshman Carly Cross received the ball at the top of the 18-yard box and her first touch set up junior Morgan Stone, who took aim at the lower right corner. Stone’s third goal of the season evened the score, 1-1.

Regulation ended in a 1-1 draw, sending the match into overtime. This match marked the third overtime game this tournament and the eighth time that the championship match has been decided in overtime.

New Mexico freshman Zaria Katesigwa was named the 2021 Mountain West Championship Most Valuable Player after scoring two goals throughout the tournament.

Joining Katesigwa on the all-tournament team are teammates Edwards, Karlee Maes and Alexa Kirton, Boise State’s Aubree Chatterton, Macie Nelson and Sydney Smith, Fresno State’s Kaelyn Miller and Robyn McCarthy and Utah State’s Ashley Cardozo and Kelsey Steed-Kaufusi.

Match Notes

  • With the victory, New Mexico has won its second MW Championship title and first since 2011.
  • The Broncos made their third championship game appearance, while the Lobos made their eighth appearance in the championship match.
  • Today’s matchup marks the third time the two squads have met in the postseason. The last time the two teams faced off on the pitch was during the 2019 MW Semifinals. New Mexico owns a 2-1 record against Boise State in the MW Tournament.
  • New Mexico is the 12th No. 1 seed to win the MW championship title since the league’s inception in 1999.
  • This afternoon’s overtime match is the eighth time that the MW championship game has been decided in overtime and first since 2016.

Credit: Source link